News 03/05/2019

De Winter in the offensive, Pasqualon top 20

In Kuurne-Brussels-Kuurne (1.HC) Wanty-Gobert went in the offensive once more. This time it was our 26-year-old Walloon rider Ludwig De Winter who joined a breakaway of 7 riders. The lead of the leaders was limited to a maximum of 3 minutes. After the climb of the Oude Kwaremont the leading group was caught by the front of the peloton.

Timothy Dupont, last year still 10th in Kuurne, had a lot of material problems before Oude Kwaremont and had to stop the race. Andrea Pasqualon and Pieter Vanspeybrouck were present in the first chasing group. Pasqualon finished 16th, Vanspeybrouck 22nd.

Ludwig De Winter: "I already had an attack in mind before the race. And if I promise something, I'll also do it! It was a tough battle to join the break of the day. Boris Vallée and I each tried a few times, so I could save my breath once in a while. "

"It was funny to meet an old teammate in the break with Alex Kirsch. Because our lead was never bigger than 3 minutes, the goal was to survive till after the Oude Kwaremont. It was fun to show me in the break. Moreover, it is also important for the team to be in the spotlight in these races. "

"In the opening months of the season it is my objective to show me in the breakaway. On Tuesday I will start in Le Samyn. In addition to the opener of the Walloon cycling season, that is also a special day for me for two reasons. Firstly, my son is celebrating his birthday on Tuesday and secondly it is also the carnival in Binche. I celebrate carnival my way by having fun on the bike."

Andrea Pasqualon: "I am very disappointed of my sprint. I felt that I really had power in the legs and sprinting top 5 was certainly possible. I was well placed in the wheel of Groenewegen and Ackermann. But someone suddenly stopped spinning his legs and I lost a lot of positions."

"I feel that I have become stronger in these Flemish races, especially compared to previous years. That is positive. With some additional course knowledge, I feel ready for races such as Gent-Wevelgem and the Tour of Flanders."


1. Bob Jungels

2. Owain Doull

3. Niki Terpstra

16. Andrea Pasqualon

22. Pieter Vanspeybrouck

DNF Ludwig De Winter

DNF Tom Devriendt

DNF Timothy Dupont

DNF Boris Vallée

DNF Wesley Kreder