News 03/05/2019

Brave Tom Devriendt in the attack

Tom Devriendt went into the attack in the first Belgian race of the 2019 cycling season, the Omloop het Nieuwsblad (1.WT, 02/03). Together with three companions our 27-year-old Belgian from Otegem attacked shortly after the start in Ghent. In the run-up to the Wolvenberg, a strong Devriendt accelerated from the breakaway after 140 kilometers. He dropped his three breakaway companions. Eventually he was caught at about 40 kilometers from the line on Molenberg, as the last survivor of the early break. Frederik Backaert was part of a group in the counterattack. Zdenek Stybar rode to the victory in Ninove. Devriendt, Meurisse, Vliegen and De Gendt finished in the first peloton for Wanty-Gobert.

Tom Devriendt: "I wanted to go in the attack because I know a breakaway can last for a long time, but we were only with four riders in the lead. Despite the fact that our lead was big, the peloton never lost control. When they accelerated in the back, our lead quickly dropped. I would have preferred a bigger leading group with a smaller advantage."

"I felt good and saved myself a bit. But when the race really started I felt that my companions had quickly used a lot of energy. I decided to accelerate on Wolvenberg. I waited for reinforcement from the back, but at the Molenberg I was eventually caught. At that moment I had used most of my energy."

"I will dispute Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne on Sunday. The weather forecast is still uncertain. When there is wind and rain I expect a tough race. We will have to be alert in the front. Timothy Dupont is our leader tomorrow. I hope he is completely recovered after illness two weeks ago. "


1. Zdenek Stybar

2. Greg Van Avermaet + 00:09

3. Tim Wellens

47. Tom Devriendt + 06:17

48. Xandro Meurisse

56. Aimé De Gendt

66. Loïc Vliegen

96. Frederik Backaert + 08:36

DNF Jérôme Baugnies

DNF Wesley Kreder



Kuurne-Brussel-Kuurne (1.HC): Tom Devriendt, Ludwig De Winter, Timothy Dupont, Wesley Kreder, Andrea Pasqualon, Boris Vallée, Pieter Vanspeybrouck