News 09/03/2018

Team Wanty-Groupe Gobert - Guillaume Van Keirsbulck rides to solo victory in Antwerp Port Epic

Antwerp Port Epic

Guillaume Van Keirsbulck has won the first edition of the Antwerp Port Epic (1.1, 02/09). The Antwerp Port Epic is the successor of the Schaal Sels. With 33km of cobblestones and 30km of unpaved roads it is quite a tough race. Already early in the race, trainee Alfdan De Decker faced a double puncture, after which he left the race. Wanty-Groupe Gobert took the control in the race halfway. Marco Minnaard, Fabien Doubey and Wesley Kreder reduced the pack. Later a breakaway of around ten riders was formed, with Kreder and Van Keirsbulck.

It did not go fast enough for Guillaume Van Keirsbulck. He accelerated together with two Roompot riders. One by one the Dutch riders were dropped. After a Van Schip crash at just over 20 kilometers from the finish, Van Keirsbulck steamed solo to the finish line near the MAS musem in Antwerp. In the sprint for second place, Wesley Kreder (4th) stranded on a sigh from the podium after a splendid race. Frederik Backaert completed the top-15. For Van Keirsbulck it is his second WGG victory after Le Samyn in 2017. For Wanty-Groupe Gobert it is the fourth UCI victory in less than two weeks, after the GP Stad Zottegem (Baugnies), Schaal Sels (Dupont) and Druivenkoers (Meurisse).

Guillaume Van Keirsbulck:

"It was a tough race today. I gave my teammates the task to make the race hard early in the race. They did it in a solid way. We got away with a group and on the next unpaved section I accelerated again, this time with Van Schip and his team mate. Eventually we were left with two in the battle for the victory. Unfortunately Van Schip crashed, but that was also my luck, because dropping him would not have been easy. "

"I kept the pace high, until Van Schip had to let go in the chase. I had little race information, so I continued to ride all the way to the finish, where it appeared that Van Schip was already far behind. I like to ride the cobblestones and off-road sections. This victory is a nice farewell present for the team after two good years. Maybe I still have something in mind for the upcoming weeks. "


1. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck

2. Aksel Nommela + 01:37

3. Taco Van der Hoorn

4. Wesley Kreder

15. Frederik Backaert + 04:21

DNF Fabien Doubey

DNF Marco Minnnaard

DNF Alfdan De Decker