News 13.10.2018

Team Wanty-Groupe Gobert - Tacx Pro Classic

WGG closes down UCI Europe Tour with podium spot for Baugnies

Wanty-Groupe Gobert has concluded his last 2018 race in the UCI Europe Tour with a podium spot for Jérôme Baugnies. The Tacx Pro Classic (1.1) was a tough race made hard by echelons. In the final a leading group of 11 riders accelerated with Jérôme Baugnies and Tom Devriendt. In the final kilometers four riders went clear, with Baugnies. In the sprint our Belgian rider rode to third place. With this podium Wanty-Groupe Gobert is on his way to a third consecutive overall victory in the UCI Europe Tour. Europe Tour will be concluded on Sunday with the Chrono des Nations in France.

Jérôme Baugnies:

"A race in Zeeland, you know that the chance of echelons is big. That is not my favorite cycling part, but today I surprisingly survived well. In the final, the bunch was quickly torn into several pieces. Tom Devriendt and I were part of the front group of 11 riders. "

"It was windy, so the pace was very high. We only caught the four leaders 3-4 kilometers from the end - a situation that often plays in my favor - and we got away with four riders. With 1km to go Dries De Bondt accelerated and I was the only one able to close the gap, which was an ideal situation for me. I felt the win was close, but the later winner and another rider were able to return in our wheels. "

"I had to launch the sprint in first position, which was not the ideal situation. I had already put a lot of energy into the chase for the last 20 kilometers, but I still managed to finish third, which is a great season end. I had a difficult period after a crash on training the day before Gooikse Pijl. On Tuesday I will close down my season in Putte-Kapellen. "

"In this way I also contribute to the overall victory of the team in the Europe Tour. Every season I score 400 to 500 points. I am very proud of that and I realize how important this final win is for the team."


1. Peter Schulting

2. Dries De Bondt

3. Jérôme Baugnies

9. Tom Devriendt

17. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck

29. Timothy Dupont

DNF Pieter Vanspeybrouck

DNF Frederik Backaert