News 12.07.2018

Team Wanty-Groupe Gobert - TDF (5): Pasqualon again top 10: « Happy, even if I could do better »

Tour de France - Stage 5

In the fifth stage of Tour de France (2.WT, 07-29/07) the riders had to conquer hilly roads towards Quimper. Seven riders went into the break, without a representative of Wanty-Groupe Gobert. Dion Smith had his third and last day in the polka dot jersey. In the nervous final Yoann Offredo and Dion Smith crashed at fifty kilometers from the finish, fortunately without too much damage. The duo rejoined the peloton and protected Andrea Pasqualon and Guillaume Martin in the final. In the rising last kilometer Andrea Pasqualon sprinted between the world top to a 9th place. Guillaume Martin, 32nd, also ends in the first group.

Andrea Pasqualon:

«The whole team did an excellent job, with Yoann Offredo and Dion Smith as perfect examples. Despite their crash at fifty kilometers from the line, they still delivered a good job. Yoann brought me to the front in the final kilometers. I was ideally placed behind Gilbert, Alaphilippe, Nibali and Sagan. Unfortunately, Boasson Hagen lost Van Avermaet's wheel, so there was a gap. I was able to close the gap, but lost valuable energy. With 300 meter to go I was locked in on the right side.»

«The 6th or 7th place was possible, but I am happy with this 9th place. There were not many sprinters left in the first group. I have never climbed the Mur de Bretagne, but I think it is more of an arrival that suits Valverde or Alaphilippe. But with good legs I have to be able to finish between the strongest.»


Stage 5:

1. Peter Sagan

2. Sonny Colbrelli

3. Philippe Gilbert

9. Andrea Pasqualon

32. Guillaume Martin

47. Dion Smith + 0:17

57. Yoann Offredo + 0:49

68. Thomas Degand + 1:17

69. Marco Minnaard + 1:17

155. Timothy Dupont + 17:17

159. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck + 17:17


1. Greg Van Avermaet

2. Tejay Van Garderen + 0:02

3. Philippe Gilbert + 0:03

38. Dion Smith + 2:43

54. Andrea Pasqualon + 3:38

62. Guillaume Martin + 4:41

67. Thomas Degand + 4:55

82. Marco Minnaard + 7:18

83. Yoann Offredo + 8:40

141. Timothy Dupont + 19:43

153. Guillaume Van Keirsbulck + 22:11