AERIUM 2018:
THE MOMENT WHEN YOUR EXPECTATIONS WILL CHANGE FOREVER.

When we set out to develop the brand new Aerium C:68 we had a very simple goal: ultimate speed. No compromise, no ifs, no buts, nothing left on the table. And to achieve that, we had to rip up the rule book and start again. So we ditched UCI regulations, wiped the slate clean and asked Formula One experts Swiss Side to work alongside us in building a bike that's so slippery, the wind won't know what's hit it.

To achieve this we had to take an entirely new approach. Instead of building a fast bike and then putting the rider on it as an afterthought, we took a holistic approach from the beginning.

Rider and bike become one

Working with former Ironman record-holder Andreas Raelert, our engineering team based all their modelling and real world testing on the concept of bike and rider as a complete package. We even created a virtual Raelert to use in our Computational Fluid Dynamics (CFD) modelling.

We challenge the wind

That's when the hard work really began. We created hundreds of CFD iterations involving both 2D and 3D models of individual frame sections, right up to the complete bike and rider. Extensive wind tunnel and real world testing with data-logging then allowed our engineers to create an entirely new front end that's little short of astonishing. The slotted head tube is supremely efficient in a straight line, but it's also adept at coping with cross-winds without losing the bike's composure. That way, you can concentrate on getting the power down without worrying about being blown off course.

What you need, when you need it

We didn't stop there. Lowered seatstays reduce the frontal area even further, while optional storage and drinking compartments allow you to reach what you need mid-race without coming out of an aero tuck. Cables and electronic components are seamlessly integrated into the frame, but easily accessible when the need arises.

Competitive design

Our engineering team even developed completely new, integrated brake arms and levers to work with the frame's streamlining, and then enclosed the calipers in aerodynamic 2K injection mould housings. Wheel changes take just seconds, even in the heat of competition. And horizontal dropouts mean you can fine-tune tyre clearance while preserving that all-important torsional rigidity for efficient power transfer.

The perfect fit

But that's just half the package. The other half is you – which is why we paid so much attention to getting the perfect fit between bike and rider. There's a huge range of adjustability to put you in the perfect ride position, including a choice of two handlebars, hundreds of combinations of pad height, width and reach and, of course, saddle position.

Because you matter

Why all this obsessive attention to detail? Because it matters. When you've put in the hours and pushed your body to its limits, you deserve a bike that won't hold you back. This is that bike. It's ready. Are you?

Low/ High Base Bar – Options

These two handlebar options allow you to customise this racing machine to your own aero position.

The sleek high option (riser bar) is 420 mm wide and 40 mm high, making reductions in aerodynamic drag possible that would otherwise require spacers.

The low option (flat bar) is 400 mm wide and optimised for maximum aerodynamic efficiency.

Highlights

Low/ High Base Bar – Options

These two handlebar options allow you to customise this racing machine to your own aero position.

Front Hydration und Gear Box System

Aerodynamic, perfectly integrated accessory that can be quickly attached and removed as needed thanks to its magnetic click system. The Front Hydration and Gear Box System is included with Aerium C:68 SLT and SL Series configuration options and fits perfectly onto the frame:

  • The BPA-free Hydration System has a capacity of 650 ml, is easy to fill and clean, and is hard to miss when you're riding in aero position.
  • The GearBox, which has a padded bottom, gives you space where you need it: several energy bars or gels, or even a replacement tube and CO2 cartridge can be stored directly on the top tube.
The right power meter systems

The new Aerium C:68 SLT and SL Series model options are compatible with the following crank-based power meters:

  • PIONEER
  • power2max
  • Quarq
  • SRM
  • SHIMANO
Garmin on board

The magnetically fixed stem cover optimally integrates your Garmin bike computer into the bike's aerodynamic design, allowing you to constantly monitor your performance. The bike computer can be quickly and easily mounted, even if you are using the water bottle and storage box unit.

Rear Hydration

The seatpost-mountable PROFILE DESIGN RM10 has enough room for one to two additional water or tool storage bottles. (Not included)

Downtube Hydration

The frame's mounts are positioned so that aerodynamic water bottles can be carried in the optimal location.

  • Frame sizes S, M, L have two mounts
  • Frame size XS has one mount

Twin Head Tube

The Twin Head tube is not only a striking visual detail, but also an important building block in the overall aerodynamic concept of the new AERIUM C:68. At low inflow angles, the Twin Head tube acts like an aerodynamically optimally long profile, which leads to a reduction of the air resistance. At medium and high inflow angles, the flow field in the control tube area is so ideal that it significantly improves the sail effect with the simultaneous reduction of the side wind susceptibility. In short: Maximum aerodynamic performance paired with ideal handling.

Concept Front Hydration & Gear Box

Aerodynamics and ergonomics are key factors for a fast bike split. This is why our aerodynamic team has developed an integrated beverage and storage system, which allows for an optimal care even in the aerodynamic position.

C:68 Carbon Fiber Technology

CUBE’s highly innovative new C68 carbon fibre technology allows us to build better bikes than ever. Typically, carbon fibre frames are around 60% carbon fibre, with the rest being the resin that bonds the fibres together. By distributing carbon fibres evenly, we can make thinner layers within the frame and reduce the amount of resin. Those fibres are a mixture of Ultra High Modulus, High Modulus Spread Tow and Intermediate Modulus carbon, each chosen for the needs of the particular area of the frame. Nanoparticles within the resin itself allows it to be distributed more evenly when under pressure in the frame mould. The result is a range of frames with 68% carbon fibre – lower weight, higher stiffness, more fun.

AERIUM 2018:
DER MOMENT WENN SICH DEINE ERWARTUNGEN FÜR IMMER VERÄNDERN

Als wir die Entwicklung des neuen Aerium C:68 in Angriff nahmen, hatten wir ein klares Ziel vor Augen: ultimative Geschwindigkeit. Keine Kompromisse, kein Wenn und Aber, keine Limits! Um dieses Ziel erreichen zu können, mussten wir wieder zurück an den Anfang und sämtliche Regeln neu definieren. Zunächst wurden die UCI-Regularien verworfen und alles bisher Dagewesene aus unseren Köpfen verbannt. Wir setzten uns mit den Formel-1-Experten von SwissSide zusammen, um gemeinsam ein Rad zu bauen, welches so windschnittig ist, dass der Wind gar nicht wissen wird, was ihn da gerade geschnitten hat.

Dafür musste ein komplett neuer Ansatz verfolgt werden. Anstatt ein schnelles Rad zu bauen, auf das dann später ein Fahrer gesetzt wird, war unsere Entwicklung von Beginn an ganzheitlich geprägt. 

Fahrer und Bike werden eins

Im Zusammenarbeit mit dem einstigen Ironman-Rekordhalter Andreas Raelert wurden sämtliche Labor- und Feldversuche auf Basis eines Komplettsystems aus Fahrer und Fahrrad durchgeführt. Unser Team entwickelte sogar einen digitalen Andi Raelert um ihn in unseren Strömungssimulationen (CFD) einsetzen zu können.

Wir fordern den Wind heraus

Zu diesem Zeitpunkt begann die harte Arbeit. In hunderten CFD-Simulationen analysierten wir die 2D- und 3D-Modelle verschiedener Rahmenprofile bis hin zum kompletten Rad inklusive Fahrer. Anhand der Daten aus umfangreichen Windkanaltests und Feldversuchen entwickelten unsere Ingenieure den einzigartigen Steuerrohrbereich. Der auffällige Schlitz im Twin Tube Steuerrohr wirkt zwar im ersten Moment etwas skurril, jedoch sind die aerodynamischen Vorteile dieser Bauweise beeindruckend. Bei frontaler Anströmung ist das Profil höchst effizient, gleichzeitig aber bei Seitenwind so stabil, dass der Fahrer jederzeit die volle Kontrolle über das Bike behält. So kannst du dich auf dein Rennen konzentrieren ohne dir Gedanken darüber machen zu müssen, woher der Wind weht.

Was du brauchst, wenn du es brauchst

Doch das war noch längst nicht alles. Die flach verlaufenden Sitzstreben verringern die Stirnfläche noch weiter, während die abnehmbare Trink- und Aufbewahrungseinheit eine komplette Versorgung während des Rennens ermöglicht ohne dafür die Aero-Position verlassen zu müssen. Sämtliche Kabel und elektronische Komponenten sind unsichtbar in den Rahmen integriert und dennoch bei Bedarf leicht zu erreichen.

Einzigartiges Design

Unser Ingenieurteam entwickelte sogar komplett neue Bremshebel und Bremsschenkel für die integrierten hydraulischen Bremsen, um die Frontfläche weiter zu verringern und die Bremsen anschließend mit einem 2K-Spritzguss-Cover verdecken zu können. Ein Wechsel der Laufräder geschieht innerhalb von wenigen Sekunden – selbst im Eifer des Gefechts während eines Rennens. Die horizontalen Ausfallenden ermöglichen eine präzise Einstellung der Laufradposition, während die für eine optimale Kraftübertragung wichtige Torsionssteifigkeit bewahrt wird.

Perfekte Symbiose

Doch das Rad alleine ist nur zur Hälfte für deinen schnellsten Bike-split verantwortlich. Die andere Hälfte bist du selbst – darum haben wir viel Wert auf eine perfekte Symbiose aus Fahrer und Bike gelegt. Die Einstellmöglichkeiten sind nahezu grenzenlos, um dein Rad individuell an deine persönliche Sitzposition anpassen zu können. Du hast sie Auswahl zwischen zwei verschiedenen Lenkeroptionen, hunderten möglichen Positionen der Armauflagen und natürlich einen großen Verstellbereich für die Sattelposition.

Weil du allein zählst

Warum diese unglaubliche Detailverliebtheit? Weil es sich auszahlt! Du trainierst viele Stunden um deinen Körper an sein absolutes Limit zu bringen und verdienst deshalb ein Rad mit dem du dein Potential voll ausschöpfen kannst. 
Du verdienst das neue Aerium C:68. Es ist bereit. Bist du es auch?

Low/ High Base Bar – Varianten

Die zwei Lenkeroptionen bilden die Grundlage für eine individuelle Anpassung dieser Rennmaschine an deine Aero-Position.

Die High-Variante (Riserbar) ermöglicht mit einer Breite von 420mm und einer Höhe von 40mm eine aerodynamische Reduzierung, der ansonsten benötigten Spacer und sorgt für eine aufgeräumte Optik.

Die Low-Variante (Flatbar) ist 400mm breit und optimiert für maximale Aerodynamik.

Highlights

Low/ High Base Bar – Varianten

Die zwei Lenkeroptionen bilden die Grundlage für eine individuelle Anpassung dieser Rennmaschine an deine Aero-Position.

Front Hydration und Gear Box System

Aerodynamisch perfekt integrierter Aufsatz, der sich durch das magnetische Klicksystem je nach Bedarf schnell ab- und anmontieren lässt. Front Hydration und Gear Box System ist in allen Ausstattungsvarianten der neuen Aerium C:68 SLT und SL Serie im Lieferumfang enthalten und passt sich optimal dem Rahmen an:

  • Das BPA-freie Hydration-System hat ein Fassungsvermögen von 650ml, ist einfach zu befüllen und zu reinigen und lässt dich in der Aero-Position das Trinken nicht vergessen.
  • Die am Boden gepolsterte GearBox bietet Platz wo er benötigt wird - für mehrere Riegel und Gels oder auch Ersatzschlauch und CO2-Kartusche direkt am Oberrohr befestigt.
Passende Wattmesssysteme

Die Varianten der neuen Aerium C:68 SLT und SL Serie sind für folgende kurbelbasierte Powermeter geeignet:

  • PIONEER
  • power2max
  • Quarq
  • SRM
  • SHIMANO
Garmin on Bord

Das mit Magnet fixierte Stem-Cover integriert deinen Garmin-Bordcomputer optimal ins aerodynamische Design und du hast deine Leistung jederzeit im Blick. Auch bei Nutzung der Trink- und Aufbewahrungseinheit lässt sich der Bordcomputer schnell und simpel anbringen.

Rear Hydration

Die an der Sattelstütze montierbare PROFILE DESIGN RM10 bietet Platz für ein bis zwei zusätzliche Trink- oder Werkzeugflaschen. (Nicht inklusive)

Downtube Hydration

Die im Rahmen vorhandenen Befestigungsmöglichkeiten sind so positioniert, dass aerodynamische Trinkflaschen optimal positioniert werden können.

  • Je zwei Befestigungsmöglichkeiten bei den Rahmengrößen S, M, L
  • eine Befestigungsmöglichkeit bei Rahmengröße XS

Twin Head Tube

Die Twin Head Tube ist nicht nur ein markantes optisches Detail, sondern ein wichtiger Baustein im Gesamtaerokonzept des neuen AERIUM C:68. Bei niedrigen Anströmwinkeln verhält sich die Twin Head Tube wie ein aerodynamisch optimal langes Profil, was zu einer Reduzierung des Luftwiderstands führt. Bei mittleren und hohen Anströmwinkeln ist das Strömungsfeld im Steuerrohrbereich so ideal, dass es bei gleichzeitiger Reduzierung der Seitenwindanfälligkeit, den Segeleffekt deutlich verbessert. Kurz: Maximale Aeroperformance gepaart mit idealem Handling.

Concept Front Hydration & Gear Box

Aerodynamik und Ergonomie sind Schlüsselfaktoren für einen schnellen Bike Split. Aus diesem Grund entwickelte unser Aerodynamik-Team ein integriertes Trink- und Ablagesystem, welches eine optimale Versorgung auch in der Aero-Position ermöglicht.

C:68 Carbon Fiber Technology

C:68 steht für höchstinnovative Carbontechnik – weniger Harz, mehr Fasergehalt: Durch die Spread Tow Technologie können der Harzanteil im Rahmen sowie das Gewicht reduziert und gleichzeitig der Faseranteil erhöht werden. Ein Faseranteil von 68% und feinste Nanopartikel im Harz sorgen zusätzlich für mehr Steifigkeit. C:68 - die perfekte Kombination und die Garantie für ein ultimatives Fahrerlebnis.

CUBE Stories